Certifications for Business Analysis and Software Requirements

Certifications are helpful to improve professional careers. Various business analysis and software requirements organizations exist that offers both a community for sharing knowledge and certifications opportunities, similarly than the Project Management Institute provides for project management domain with its PMP program. This article presents a list of business analysis and software requirements certifications currently available from different professional organizations.

As certification has become a global business, there could be sometimes a thin line between organizations providing genuine knowledge and the mere “selling” by some training companies of a certificate that should enhance your employability. You should do your own due diligence before starting a certification program, exploring what value it has for you, how it is recognized by companies in your area of the world and what is the level of competence of your trainers.

International Institute of Business Analysis (IIBA)

The IIBA is a non-profit international professional association for business analysts. It claims to be the first organization to offer formal certification for business analysis professionals, with two certification programs. The Certification of Competency in Business Analysis (CCBA®) is for business analysis practitioners who want to be recognized for their experience and achieve a milestone in their BA career.

The CCBA® designation will allow you to demonstrate your skills and your ability to take on greater responsibility. IIBA® expects the CCBA® designation to become the industry standard certification for business analysts. The Certified Business Analysis Professional (CBAP®) is aimed at senior business analysts who have the skill and expertise to perform BA work on projects of various sizes and complexities. With IIBA certifications you can get certified online.

The International Institute of Business Analysis (IIBA) is an independent non-profit professional association for business analyst. IIBA was established in 2003 as a Canadian Corporation. Its mission is to develop and maintain standards for the practice of business analysis and for the certification of its practitioners. IIBA local chapters exist in many cities in Canada, the USA and around the world.

Website: https://www.iiba.org/

Certifications for Business Analysis and Software Requirements

British Computer Society (BCS)

The British Computer Society (BCS) is both a body to exchange IT expertise and knowledge, a provider of IT qualifications and a creator of IT standards and frameworks . It provides three certifications in the domain of business analysis and software requirements.

The certificate in Business Analysis Practice deals with the fundamental aspects of business analysis. It uses a holistic approach to the investigation and improvement of business situations with a view to developing effective, feasible business solutions. After you have gained a foundation level certification, you can move on to demonstrate specialist practical skills. You can accumulate modules to gain a BCS International Diploma in Business Analysis. If you are looking to gain certifications that show you have developed specialist analytical, business and personal skills. You can accumulate modules to work towards a BCS Advanced International Diploma in Business Analysis.

Website: https://www.bcs.org/qualifications-and-certifications/certifications-for-professionals/

International Requirements Engineering Board (IREB e.V.)

The International Requirements Engineering Board aims at providing a certification model with syllabi and exams, thus fostering further education in the field of requirements engineering. The goal is to improve requirements engineering and business analysis in practice. The Certified Professional for Requirements Engineering (CPRE) is a personal certificate aimed at individuals working in Requirements Engineering, Business Analysis and Testing. It will expand your professional knowledge and help you to become more successful in your job. The certification scheme is developed by the IREB, the contents are taught by independent training providers and the CPRE exam can be taken at approved certification bodies. The CPRE certificate has lifetime validity.

Website: https://www.ireb.org/en

IEEE Computer Society

The IEEE Computer Society is one of the biggest organizations of computing professional. The Professional Software Developer Certification requires successful completion of Certificates of Proficiency in the following four key knowledge areas: Software Engineering Requirements, Software Engineering Design, Software Engineering Construction, Software Engineering Testing and the successful completion of an online exam. Candidates seeking this professional certification should have completed a minimum of two years of college education in computer science or equivalent in a related field and two years of relevant experience in industry. However, there are no prerequisites required for registration.

The learning objectives for the Software Requirements Review Course part of the Professional Software Developer Certification are:
1. Develop effective functional and non-functional requirements that are complete, concise, correct, consistent, testable and unambiguous.
2. Select the appropriate requirements elicitation techniques to identify requirements.
3. Design a set of software models to be used to flesh out hidden requirements and drive clarity into the system functional requirements
4. Effectively analyze requirements and prioritize accordingly.
5. Perform requirements engineering in the context of the most common software development life cycles and
6. Create a requirements specification to communicate requirements to a broad set of stakeholders.
7. Utilize various requirements validation techniques to critically evaluate their requirements to identify defects
8. Manage change to requirements

Website: https://www.computer.org/

Object Management Group (OMG)

The Object Management Group® Standards Development Organization (OMG® SDO) is an international (27 countries), membership-driven (230+ organizations) and not-for-profit consortium. It manages many standards related to software requirements, like the Unified Modeling Language (UML).

The goal of the OMG is to develop enterprise integration standards that provide real-world value. OMG and its members are committed to developing certification programs (e.g., Business Process Management 2 [BPM 2], Systems Modeling Language [SysML], and Unified Modeling Language 2 [UML 2]) that remain ahead of job market demands and trends. OMG certification programs are created by subject-matter experts with extensive industry and best practice experience.

Website: https://www.omg.org/omg-certifications/index.htm

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.